What do you prefer?

CEO HLDC Tan receives '07 Entrepreneur Of The Year Award

A proud Kapampangan, Wilfredo M. Tan, President and CEO of Hausland Development Corporation, was named the Realty and Construction Entrepreneur during the 2007 Entrepreneur Of The Year awards banquet held on Tuesday, February 5, 2008 at the Makati Shangri-La Hotel.
Posted on:Thu, Jun 23rd 2011, 12:51

Undaunted by the eruption of Mt. Pinatubo in 1991, Mr. Tan has steadily grown his company that has been providing the Central Luzon market with themed, quality low-cost and socialized housing. Among his projects are MetroClark Homes, Timog Park Homes, MetroClark Executive Villas, La Casa Nueva, Tuscany North Estates and the soon to be launched FIESTA Communities in Porac. Other awardees include Mr. Uytengsu, President of Alaska Milk Corporation(Master Entrepreneur and Entrepreneur of the Year Award), Maria Angela Villalba, Executive Director of Unlad Kabayan Migrant Service Foundation (Social Entrepreneur), Margarita Fores, President and CEO of Cibo, Inc. (Woman Entrepreneur), Abelardo Tolentino, President and CEO of Aidea Philippines, Inc. (Innovation Entrepreneur), Raymund Joseph Laurel, President and Creative Director of Rajo Laurel Enterprises (Small Business Entrepreneur).

The recipients of the category awards were chosen from among 15 outstanding entrepreneurs from different industries from all over the country. The others were Roy Rivera (Managing Director, RD Realty Development Corporation), Exequiel Robles (President and CEO, Sta. Lucia Realty and Development, Inc.), Amb. Jose Antonio (Chairman, Century Properties, Inc.), Jose Cervantes (President, Portion Fillers, Inc.), Chester Cokaliong (Founder, CEO and COO, Cokaliong Shipping Lines, Inc.), Dr. Cecilia Del Castillo (Executive Director, Negros Women for Tomorrow Foundation), Edward Lee (Chairman and Founder, CitisecOnline.com), Sebastian Tamayo (President, Far East Hotel Management and Consultancy, Inc.), and Evelyn Lao-Yap (Founder and President, Benby Enterprises, Inc.).

"This year we honor 15 outstanding individuals whose lives changed for the better despite the many challenges they encountered. Now, they are the ones initiating change. Their vision, creativity, and achievements will inspire the current and next generations of entrepreneurs," said Mr. David L. Balangue, Chairman and President of the SGV Foundation.

All nominees went through a strict financial data ranking system used by all Entrepreneur Of The Year participating countries. The finalists were further evaluated by an independent panel of judges composed of distinguished personalities from government, business, and academe.

The panel was chaired by Amb. Bienvenido Tan, Jr. of the Philippine Business for Social Progress, and President of Modern Glass Distributors, Inc. The other judges were SAP Philippines Managing Director Mr. Krish Datta, Development Bank of the Philippines President and CEO Mr. Reynaldo David, Department of Trade and Industry Undersecretary Zenaida Maglaya, Ateneo de Manila University President Rev. Fr. Bienvenido Nebres, and Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship East Asia Head Mr. Kevin Teo.

The Entrepreneur Of The Year was founded in the United States by professional services firm Ernst & Young in 1986 to recognize the achievements of the most successful and innovative entrepreneurs worldwide. In 2001, Ernst & Young expanded the program and launched the World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards. In the Philippines, the SGV Foundation, Inc. established the Entrepreneur Of The Year in 2003 and presented its very first award to Jollibee Foods Corporation president and CEO Tony Tan Caktiong who went on to win as World Entrepreneur Of The Year 2004 in Monte Carlo, Monaco. Socorro Cancio-Ramos, founder of National Book Store, was next named Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2004 followed in 2005 by Lance Gokongwei, President and CEO of Cebu Air, Inc. Senen Bacani, Chairman and President of La Frutera, Inc., was named Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2006.

Supporting the program as strategic partners are the Department of Trade and Industry, Ateneo Graduate School of Business, Development Bank of the Philippines, Philippine Business for Social Progress, Philippine Stock Exchange, and the Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship. Sponsors are Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation, SAP Philippines, CATS Motors, Inc., FastTrack Solutions, Inc., Globe Business, Procter & Gamble Distributing (Philippines), Inc., and Primer Group of Companies. Official airline is KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, operating on behalf of the Air France-KLM Group in the Philippines. Media sponsors are BusinessWorld and ABS-CBN News Channel.